总览

什么是肺结节?

它是在肺部的小小生长物,大小在0.5到2厘米之间。更大的则被称为肺部肿块,且有更高的癌变几率。

医生通常会比较一段时间前后结节的影像学检查结果,以查看其数量或大小是否增加,从而判定是否为癌症。  

这些结节很难被发现,据报道仅有1%是在X光检查中发现,有30%在CT扫描检查中被发现。

肺结节的原因

肺结节有两种主要类型。判断是否是良性结节(非癌性)或恶性结节需要由多种因素来决定,包括其大小,形状,特征和里面包含了什么。

良性结节可能是由结核病或真菌感染等疾病引起的,也可能是先前感染造成的瘢痕所形成的结果。类风湿关节炎等其他慢性疾病也可能导致感染并形成肿瘤。最后,肺中纤维组织不受控制的纤维生长也可能导致肺结节

从原发性肺癌到从身体其他部位转移过来的各种癌症,都会形成癌性结节。

肺结节症状

它们通常是无症状的,并且通常在患者进行筛查时被找到。有时候,结节表现为持续的咳嗽,即使患者进行了治疗也不会消失。

检验

如果肺结节的直径大于1公分,通常会在胸部X光检查中发现。因此,通常只有在患者检查其他呼吸道疾病时才会被发现。

近年来,CT扫描已成为筛查此类疾病的常见方法。在国际胸外科中心(ICTS),我们提供了包括低剂量CT(不使用造影剂)扫描在内的筛查套餐,该扫描可以发现直径小至5毫米的结节。这些结节将在一段时间内被追踪检查,以确定它们的大小增加还是数量增多。这将甄别出癌性结节。

一旦通过CT扫描或活检确认是癌性的结节,可使用PET CT扫描评估代谢活性水平。由于需要更多的资源才能生长,因此癌性结节的代谢水平更高。PET CT扫描将在这些区域显示为明亮,从而查明这些癌性结节的位置。

在CT扫描的指导下将一根针插入结节中并获得组织样本。该样本随后将被送去检查是否有任何异常活动。这将有助于阿尼兹医生(Dr Aneez)确定结节是否为癌症。

此手术涉及使用支气管镜——一根装有摄像镜头的有弹性的管子。

管子会从嘴里被引导到患者的呼吸道,然后进行活检。

这种先进的手术使用导航系统,对相同大小的目标结节,进行准确的组织采样。它们还用于在手术前对靶向结节进行染色和标记,以便准确切除结节。

治疗方法

对于良性结节,无需进行治疗。但是,如果是由于活动性感染引起的,则应对问题进行评估并进行相应的治疗。

有些患者尽管做了活检,却还是无法获得确诊。在这种情况下,我们则建议使用外科方法——切除活检来切除该结节。在国际胸外科中心(ICTS),微创外科手术是首选。

首先介绍的微创外科手术是电视胸腔镜手术。这个手术只需要通过位于胸部2-3个钥匙孔大小的切口来进行,从而病人可以更快的恢复。结节将被切除掉。

该手术是通过手术机器人系统来执行的,可使得外科医生可以进行更高精度的手术。一种特殊的染料标记被用来进一步精确地确定切口的位置,从而可以减小切口并缩短术后恢复时间。

这是切肺手术的传统形式,即在胸壁上开一个切口,以供外科医生切除结节。由于这种手术对身体更具有侵入性,因此需要更长的住院时间以及更长的恢复时间。

Information About Lung Cancer

Lung Cancer

Overview

What is a Pulmonary Nodule?

It is a small growth in the lung that ranges from 0.5 – 2 cm. Any larger would be a pulmonary mass which has a higher chance of being cancerous.

Doctors usually compare imaging tests of these nodules over some time to see if there is an increase in number or size to determine if it is cancerous.  

These nodules are hardly detected, reportedly only being found in 1% of X-rays and 30% of CT scans.

Causes of Pulmonary Nodules

There are two main types of pulmonary nodules. Benign nodules (non-cancerous) or malignant nodules which are determined by multiple features, including the size, shape, characteristic and content within the growth.

Benign nodules can be caused by infections from diseases such as tuberculosis or fungal infections or may be the result of scarring from previous infections. Other chronic illnesses such as rheumatoid arthritis may also lead to infections that form tumours. Lastly, fibrous growths which are the uncontrolled growth of fibrous tissues in the lungs may also lead to lung nodules.

Cancerous nodules can form due to a variety of cancers from primary lung cancer to cancer that has metastasized from other parts of the body.

Symptoms of Pulmonary Nodules

They are usually asymptomatic (without symptoms) and commonly picked up when patients go for screening. Ocassionally, they manifest in a persistent cough that does not go away despite patients having sought treatment.

Investigation

Pulmonary nodules will commonly show up as a spot in chest X-rays if they are larger than 1cm in diameter. As a result, it is only commonly discovered when patients are checking for other respiratory conditions.

In recent years, CT scans are becoming a common method of screening for such illnesses. At ICTS, we offer a screening package which involves a low dose non-contrast CT scan that can pick up nodules as small as 5mm in diameter. These nodules will be accessed over some time to examine if they grow in size or multiply in numbers. This will allow the detection of cancerous nodules.

Once a cancerous nodule has been confirmed either via a CT scan or a biopsy, the PET CT scan is used to evaluate metabolic activity levels. A cancerous nodule would require more resources to grow and thus it operates at a higher metabolic level. The PET CT scan will light up in these areas thus pinpointing the location of these cancerous nodules.

A needle directed by the guidance of a CT scan will be inserted into the nodule to obtain a sample of tissue. This tissue will later be sent for testing of any abnormal activity. This will help Dr Aneez determine if the nodule is cancerous.

This procedure involves the use of the bronchoscope – a flexible tube with a camera attached to it.

It will be guided from the mouth into the airways to then carry out a biopsy.

This advanced procedure makes use of a navigational guidance system that targets nodules of similar sizes to achieve accurate sampling of tissues. They are also used in targeting a nodule for dye marking pre-operatively before proceeding to surgery to resect the nodule accurately.

Treatments

For benign nodules, no treatment would be required. However, if it is due to an active infection, that problem will be assessed and treated accordingly.

If the patient is unable to get a conclusive diagnosis despite having undergone a biopsy, an excision biopsy will be recommended to remove the nodule via surgical methods. At ICTS, minimally invasive surgical options are preferential.

The first is video-assisted thoracic surgery. This will occur via 2-3 keyhole incisions in the chest to facilitate faster recovery. The nodule will then be removed.

This procedure is performed from a robotic platform and would be able to give the surgeon more precision in the surgery. A special marking dye is used to further pinpoint the location for incision which allows for smaller cuts and shorter recovery times.

This is the traditional form of open lung surgery whereby an incision is made in the chest wall for the surgeon to remove the nodule. As this form of surgery is more invasive, it requires a longer hospitalisation period along with longer recovery time.

Request an Appointment