总览

胸腺瘤和胸腺癌

胸腺瘤和胸腺癌是两种罕见的癌症,可以从覆盖胸腺外表面的细胞中形成。胸腺是存在于纵隔(在胸骨后)里的器官,其负责T细胞介导的免疫,一直到青春期胸腺才逐渐退化和消失。

如果腺体持续存在,则会发展为“胸腺瘤”。它与其他疾病有关,例如重症肌无力,类风湿关节炎干燥综合征,低血红蛋白球蛋白血症。胸腺瘤很少见,占全部癌症的发病比率不到1%。

在胸腺中形成的癌症中有90%是胸腺瘤,而另外的10%是胸腺癌,淋巴瘤或类癌。胸腺瘤手术是去除胸腺瘤的常见外科方法,被称为正中胸骨切开术,由心胸外科医生执行手术。

症状和诊断

在所有的胸腺瘤和胸腺癌病例中,有25%的患者是无症状的。通常是在对患者进行其他疾病检查时或在常规胸部X光检查期间才发现胸腺瘤或胸腺癌。

有些症状包括胸痛,咳嗽和上呼吸道疾病。它们也可能与重症肌无力有关,在这种情况下,患者可能表现为肌肉无力,疲劳,呼吸急促,吞咽困难以及贫血等症状。

大部分诊断都是借助CT扫描完成的,不需要进行活检。但是,如果在CT扫描依然无法定论,且如果怀疑是胸腺癌,或者肿瘤较大或伴有其他疾病(如淋巴瘤),则将需要进行活检。

检验

肿瘤可以在胸部X光检查中偶然发现。

这是最常见的检查方法,以确定肿瘤的范围及其与附近组织器官结构的关联。

如果癌症得到确认,则进行PET CT扫描以查明疾病的发展程度,以及是否转移到身体其他部位。也可以用来发现淋巴结的受累情况。

很少会用到——除非怀疑神经或血管受累时。

您的外科医生将向您说明他需要对您进行哪些检查。

治疗方法

治疗通常根据疾病所处阶段的不同而不同,但手术是治疗胸腺瘤和胸腺癌的常见手段。

手术治疗可以是完全切除术或肿瘤减灭术。

胸腺瘤的完整手术切除是手术的目标。在国际胸外科中心(ICTS),我们使用机器人辅助手术系统来提供微创手术——通过“钥匙孔手术”切除适当大小的胸腺瘤,而又不影响癌症的治疗。但是,如果胸腺瘤很大,或者如果是要进行胸腺癌手术,那么完全手术切除将涉及胸骨内测切开术,半蛤壳状切口或胸廓切开术

您的外科医生将向您解释有哪些治疗选择,并与您详细讨论最适合您情况的手术方法。

放射治疗(电疗)通常在手术后用于胸腺瘤和胸腺癌的辅助治疗,以降低复发风险。如果肿瘤较大且局部复发的风险很高,则在患者与放射肿瘤学家讨论后将为患者提供辅助放射治疗。

化疗用于胸腺癌或胸腺瘤晚期或不可切除的复发性癌症的患者。有时可以在手术前使用化疗来缩小肿瘤的大小。

化疗用于胸腺癌或胸腺瘤晚期或不可切除的复发性癌症的患者。有时可以在手术前使用化疗来缩小肿瘤的大小。

Information About Lung Cancer

Lung Cancer

Overview

What is THYMOMA AND THYMIC CARCINOMA

Thymoma and Thymic Carcinoma are two types of rare cancers that can form in the cells that cover the outside surface of the thymus gland. The thymus gland is an organ present in the mediastinum (behind the breast bone) and functions until puberty and is responsible for the T-cell mediated immunity. The thymus gland then involutes and disappears.

If the gland persists, it can develop a tumour called “Thymoma”. It is associated with other diseases like Myasthenia Gravis, Rheumatoid Arthritis Sjogren’s Syndrome, and Hypogammaglobulinaemia. It is rare and accounts for less than 1% of all cancers.

90% of cancers that form in the thymus are Thymomas, while 10% of them can be Thymic Carcinoma, Lymphomas, or Carcinoid tumours. Thymoma surgery is a common surgical procedure of removing thymoma, which is a median sternotomy and performed by a cardiothoracic surgeon.

Symptoms and diagnosis

In about 25% of Thymoma & Thymic Carcinoma cases, patients are asymptomatic. They are typically detected when the patient is screened for other things or during a routine chest x-ray.

Some symptoms include chest pain, coughing, and upper airway condition. They can also be related to Myasthenia Gravis and the patient may have muscle weakness, fatigue or shortness of breath or difficulty in swallowing, as well as anaemia.

Most of the time for diagnosis is done with the aid of a CT scan and does not require a biopsy. But if it is inconclusive on a scan then a biopsy will be done if there is a suspicion of Thymic Carcinoma, if the tumour is large or if there is associated other diseases like a lymphoma.

Investigation

These tumours can be found incidentally on a chest x-ray.

This is the most common investigation done to find the extent of the tumour and the association of it with the nearby structures.

If the cancer is confirmed then a PET CT scan is done to find out the extent of the disease, and the spread of the disease in other parts of the body if any. It is also done for finding out about lymph-node involvement.

Rarely done when involvements of nerves or blood vessels are in doubt.

Your surgeon will explain to you what are the investigations he needs to do in your case.

Treatments

The treatment is usually based on the stage of the disease, but surgery has a universal role in this disease.

Surgical treatment can be in the form of a complete surgical excision or surgery to debulk the tumour.

Complete surgical excision of a thymoma is the goal of surgery. Here at ICTS, we provide minimally invasive access surgery in the form of robotic-assisted surgery where thymomas of a reasonable size are excised through a keyhole surgery without compromising on the cancer care. But when the thymomas are large or if they are thymic carcinoma then a complete surgical excision will involve a median sternotomy, hemi-clamshell or a Thoracotomy.

Your surgeon will explain to you the options available in your case and will discuss with you in detail about the surgical methods which are best suited in your case.

Radiotherapy is usually used as an adjuvant treatment in thymomas and thymic carcinoma after surgery to reduce the risk of recurrence. If the tumour is a large and the risk of local recurrence is highly then adjuvant radiotherapy will be offered to the patient after discussion with the radiation oncologist.

Chemotherapy is used in patients with thymic carcinoma or who have advanced stage for thymoma or recurrent cancers which are not resectable. Sometimes they can be used before surgery to shrink the tumour size.

This new form of treatment is still in the trial stage but can be used in certain cases of advanced cancer as the adjuvant or primary treatment to help get control over the disease. This conversation can be done with the medical oncologist and the treatment protocol can be decided between the surgeon, a medical oncologist and the patient.

Request an Appointment